The Forth Bridge Commemorative Portrait Group

1890 in Edinburgh
John Lamb

Mounted photograph, commemorative portrait group, opening of the Forth Bridge, 4th March 1890, by J Lamb, photographer, Edinburgh. Showing Arthur J Knowles, Sir William Arrol, Joseph Philippe, Andrew S Biggart, A J Symonds, Reginald E Middleton, R Walter Mlik, Louis Neville, Duncan Campbell, Alex Chalmers, Rudolph Lilljequiot, T Moir, Allan D Stewart, Ernest W Moir, William Gray, Alfred E Mavor, W F Jackson, John Walker, William White Millar, Marquis of Tweeddale, Sir Matthew W Ridley, Lord Colville, William Heygate, Matthew W Thompson, Earl of Elgin, James Hall Renton, Lord Hindlip, John Dent, J B Wieland, Sir John Fowler, Samuel Balbirnie, Wilhelm Westhofen, E Malcolm Wood, John Noble, Spencer Brunton, Walter J Bourke, Maurice Fitzmaurice, Axel Shluter, Evelyn G Carey, Henry Oakeley, James Blackburn, Sir Benjamin Baker, Frederick G Cooper, William N Bakewell, Thomas Scott, George Aitken, Adam Hunter, J B Webster, John Martin. Overall: 918 mm x 672 mm.

Related people


Photographic Collections (Railway)
Object Number:
cardboard and paper
  • object genre
  • image
British Transport Commission; British Railways, Eastern Region

Cite this page


We encourage the use and reuse of our collection data.

Data in the title, made, maker and details fields are released under Creative Commons Zero

Descriptions and all other text content are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 licence

Using our data


Download catalogue entry as json

Download manifest IIIF

Our records are constantly being enhanced and improved, but please note that we cannot guarantee the accuracy of any information shown on this website.