Central Electricity Generating Board


The electricity industry underwent a re-organisation in 1957 resulting in the creation of the Central Electricity Generating Board (CEGB). The CEGB owned, operated and extended the network of power stations and main transmission lines which supplied electricity to the twelve Area Boards of England and Wales. It did not sell direct to customers except where specifically authorised by the Secretary of State for Energy.

Although nationalisation began in 1990 with the CEGB broken up into two electricity generation companies (PowerGen and National Power) and the National Grid Company, the CEGB was not formally dissolved until 2001.