South Indian Railway

The Great Southern Railway of India (SIR) was renamed South Indian Railway on the 1st Jan 1891. SIR together with the Guntakal-Villupuram State Railway formed to become a new company called “South Indian Railway Company Limited”. In April 1951 the railway was integrated into a single zone with Madras and Southern, Marhatta Railway and Mysore Railway to form the Southern Railway zone of Indian Railways.