European Commission

The European Commission is an institution of the European Union that upholds the day-to-day management of the EU whilst managing treaties and proposing legislations and policies. The Commission is steered by a group of 28 Commissioners, known as 'the college'. They make decisions on the political and strategic direction of the Commission and therefore, the EU. The body of the Committee is organised into policy departments, known as Directorates-General (DGs) and these are respionsible for different areas of EU policy.