The London North Eastern Railway, or the LNER as it is also known, was formed in 1923 after the grouping of the railways. The LNER was the second biggest of the the 'Big Four' railway companies formed during grouping. The group consisted of seven constituent and 26 subsidiary companies. The constituents were North Eastern, Great Northern, Great Eastern, Great Central, Hull & Barnsley, North British and Great North of Scotland. As the name suggests the company covered the arc of the country between north and east of London and included the East Coast Mainline. The main workshops for the company were in Doncaster.