Public Health Laboratory Service


Founded under 1946 National Health Service Act; There are 49 laboratories in the network based in NHS Trusts in England and Wales and organised into 9 Groups. At the heart of the network is the PHLS Headquarters at Colindale in North London together with the Communicable Diseases Surveillance Centre (CDSC) and the Central Public Health Laboratory (CPHL).