East Lancashire Railway 1987

Lancashire, England, United Kingdom

Heritage railway operated by members of East Lancashire Railway Preservation Society (ELRPS); noted for collection of diesel locomaotives and some 140 carriages, wagons and utility vehicles; following closure by British Rail in 1982 line re-opened as heritage railway 25 July 1987 with inital service running between Bury and Ramsbottom via Summerseat; 1991 extended to Rawtenstall via Irwell Vale; 2003 extended to Heywood