Corporation of Trinity House


1514 - grant of a Royal Charter by Henry VIII to a fraternity of mariners called the Guild of the Holy Trinity, .. "so that they might regulate the pilotage of ships in the King's streams."

1604 - was given rights concerning compulsory pilotage of shipping and the exclusive right to license pilots in the River Thames by James I.

1609 - the first lighthouse, built by Trinity House, at Lowestoft.

1871 - Souter Point Lighthouse, one of the first lighthouses in the world designed and built to be powered by electricity, was built by Trinity House.

1988 - Souter Point Lighthouse decommissioned and handed over to the National Trust.

1990 - Souter Point Lighthouse opened to the public.