Madras and Southern Mahratta Railway 1908 - 1951


Formed on 1 January 1908 by the merger of the Madras Railway and the Southern Mahratta Railway. On 14 April, 1951, the Madras and South Mahratta Railway, the South Indian Railway and the Mysore State Railway were merged together to form the Southern Railway, one of the 16 zones of the Indian Railways.