North Western Railway (India) 1886 - 1947


Formed in January 1886 as the North Western State Railway by an amalgamation of several companies including the Sind, Punjab and Dehli Railways, and renamed as the North Western Railway in 1905. It was divided by the Partition of 1947 with the majority of its lines being inside the newly created Pakistani territory.