British Steel Corporation

British Steel Corporation (BSC) was a government-owned corporation established by the Iron and Steel Act of March 22, 1967 incorporating the ownership of 14 major steel companies in the United Kingdom: Colvilles Limited; Consett Iron Company Limited; Dorman, Long & Co., Limited; English Steel Corporation Limited; G.K.N. Steel Company Limited; John Summers & Sons Limited; The Lancashire Steel Corporation Limited; The Park Gate Iron and Steel Company, Limited; Richard Thomas & Baldwins Limited; Round Oak Steel Works Limited; South Durham Steel and Iron Company Limited; The Steel Company of Wales Limited; Stewarts and Lloyds, Limited; and The United Steel Companies Limited. The organisation was converted to a limited company, British Steel PLC, and privatised in 1988. It later merged and is now owned by Corus, a Tata Steel company.