In the 1962 Transport Act the British Railway Board (BRB) was establised as a replacement to the British Transport Commission. In the 1960's Dr Richard Beeching became chairman of the board and started a programme of radical reorganisation. In 1969 British Railways was rebranded and the name British Rail, complete with its double arrow logo, was introduced. In 1993 the company was split into 100 separate parts and privatised under John Major's 1993 Railways Act. The Transport Act of 2000 finally ended the British Railway Board and its remaining responsibilities were dispersed, though it still remains responsible for the Transport police.