Southern Region British Railways 1948 - 1992

Railway company,
Railway regional authority

1948 - formed after nationalisation of railways in the UK. The region ceased to be an operating unit in its own right in the 1980s and was wound-up at the end of 1992. Covered south London, southern England and the south coast, including Kent, Sussex and Surrey. Largely based upon the former Southern Railway area.