Rolls-Royce Limited 1904 - 1973

Car manufacturer, aero engine manufacturer

1906 - Founded by CS Rolls and Henry Royce.

In 1971 the company went bankrupt and was subsequently nationalised. It was divided into two: Rolls-Royce Ltd (legally Rolls-Royce (1971) Ltd) which was government owned, and Rolls-Royce Motor Holdings Ltd (created 1973) which returned to private ownership. In 1987 Rolls-Royce Ltd is privatised and subsequently becomes Rolls-Royce Plc.

1988 - Rolls-Royce Motors brand is bought by BMW.